DCL Structure

Rules of The J J McCarry Handicap League:

1. The JJM consists of Balmore, Bearsden, Bishopbriggs, Cawder, Clober, Dougalston, Douglas Park, Dullatur, Glasgow, Hayston, Hilton Park, Kirkintilloch, Lenzie, Milngavie, Sandyhills and Windyhill. For the 2021 season five clubs will participate in the league-namely Bearsden, Clober, Dougalston, Glasgow, and Kirkintilloch.
2. Teams will consist of four amateur club Junior members playing Handicap Match-play. A Junior is defined as a player under the age of 18 at 00.01 hours on 1 January in a calendar year.
3. Junior Boys will play from the Yellow Tees and Junior Girls will play from the Red Tees.

To derive a players Playing Handicap when multiple tees are used, the following should be applied:

       Course Handicap = (Handicap Index X The Slope Rating / 113)
       Playing Handicap = Course Handicap + Difference in Course Ratings. Rounded to the nearest whole number.        

5. Full Handicap allowance will be given.
6 Each player's CDH number will be recorded on the Team Sheet prior to the match starting.
7. The dates in the fixture list may be changed by agreement with the two Team Managers.
8. The R&A Rules and the Local Rules of the Host Club will apply except GPS devices, which measure distance only, may be used.
9. Points will be awarded for each match on the following basis: 3 for an away win, 2 for a home win, 2 for an away draw and 1 for a home draw.
10. Points will be awarded for each tie on the following basis: 1 for a win, and a 1/2 for a draw.
11. In the event that their are two leagues the winners of each leage will have a play-off at a neutral club.
12. In the event of a match having to be abandoned, it will be replayed.
13. At the conclusion of each match, the host Club will provide a simple meal, at the end of which both Captains will give a short speech.
14. The J J McCarry Trophy will be presented to the winning club at the Annual Dinner, which will be held on the first Friday in February of the following year. The cost of insurance and Engraving of the trophy will be covered by the winning Club.
15. DCL Committee. 2021.
Rule 6 Added 2023.