DCL Structure

Boundary Bell 2011

Bishopbriggs retained the Glasgow Boundary Bell and the title of Glasgow champions on Sunday 4 September 2011, beating Eastwood by 6 matches to 2 at Glasgow Killermont GC.

On  a fine day with the course in excellent condition, the golf was of a very high standard. All the matches were played  in a very good spirit and the players were a credit to their clubs.

The early exchanges suggested that the result would be  very close but the fast Killermont greens appeared to be more to the liking of  the men from Bishopbriggs and with strong finishes in the tight early  matches they built up a good lead. Fine  performances from Willie McMillan and David Dickson briefly revived hopes for the large Eastwood  support before the later matches went in favour of Bishopbriggs. 

After a second highly successful season, the formidable Bishopbriggs team will be  keen to add the Inter-Cities Cup to their trophy cabinet when they face Royal Burgess, who have just become Edinburgh champions for the fourth successive year,next Spring. While coming up short this time, Eastwood acquitted themselves very well and showed that they may well be back next year for another crack at the Glasgow  Boundary Bell.

In the individual matches-

Bishopbriggs Result Eastwood
Graeme McDougall Beat Ross Campbell
Stephen Rogerson Beat Frank Taggart
Malcolm McPhee Beat David Sibbald
Ian Gillan Lost to Willie McMillan
Mark Liddell Lost to David Dickson
Alistair McPherson Beat Gavin  Cochrane
Scott Wearing Beat Austen McDowall
Derek McNeil Beat  Stephen Smith
Congratulations on a great achievement to the Bishopbriggs team of
Graeme McDougall, Alastair MacPherson, Scott Wearing, Derek McNeill,
Ian Gillan, Kenny Johnston, Angus McIntosh, John McLay Team Manager,
Willie Abernethy, Mark Liddell Club Captain.